Murphy Brown: Season 11 - TV Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes Suits - Season 2 | Download Now | The Nutcracker and the Four Realms 2018 720p HDCAM

Murphy Brown: Season 11 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
November 7, 2018
Murphy Brown's return has brought unfiltered politics back to primetime in a way we haven't seen in a long while; as the only comedy about journalists on TV, Murphy Brown's been able to wring humor and insight from today's headlines.
October 11, 2018
Watching the first episode was like being struck repeatedly on the forehead with a hammer of righteousness.
October 8, 2018
Somehow, Murphy Brown manages to say provocative things without actually being provocative. That might be enough to make it a hit TV show, but in this era, it's not enough to make it an important one.
October 5, 2018
I will take my public disavowals of attacks on journalism where I can get them, even when they're flawed, and even when they feel like a cathartic excuse to rail against what's essentially a cardboard cut-out of a real person.
October 5, 2018
The writing from series creator Diane English has some mustard, but too much of it relies on a well-worn comedic formula that goes for easy laughs.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 3, 2018
Of course, it's great to see the wonderful Candice Bergen on air again-even if seeing her immediately brings visions of Sprint commercials into your head-but the premiere episode felt stale.
October 1, 2018
The show should also take a breather, because it spends much time shouting what we already shout ourselves, at the expense of more skillful comedy.
September 28, 2018
[Season 11] isn't exactly subtle about its political leanings.
September 28, 2018
The bottom line is Murphy is relatable. If we can't see Murphy in ourselves, we have a Murphy in our lives to compare her to, right? Unless the show sticks with only political jabs, Murphy Brown might be a success.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
September 28, 2018
Just as Murphy strives to place her journalistic integrity above the sensationalist cravings of cable news, Murphy Brown would be well served to place the connection between its characters above its mission to make the ugliness of our reality funny.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
September 28, 2018
Bergen recaptures that force-of-nature energy in every frame of the revival; even in a TV landscape rich with complex women, there's no one else quite like Murphy.
September 28, 2018
Murphy ultimately has it both ways regarding Shannon-rhymes-with-Bannon, but it's not clear yet whether the revived Murphy Brown is going to be so lucky, striving as it does to be both mainstream comedy and liberal agitprop.
September 28, 2018
Though it's a bumpy ride for the first few episodes, Murphy Brown delivers an energetic return that feels galvanized by the world it's compelled to comment on.
September 28, 2018
But it's great to hear her voice and her sly comic chops on the reboot of her character, enlisted to do a morning cable news shows with a few of her former cohorts from the show.
September 28, 2018
So far this just isn't a very good show, with both Roseanne and Will & Grace making stronger and funnier first impressions in this particular three-way reboot universe.
Full Review | Original Score: C
September 28, 2018
There was more that we liked than we didn't like. But if it's going to be 13 episodes of speeches, the show won't last beyond one return season.
September 27, 2018
It's funny and sweet and true to its roots, if, at times, a little obvious in its aims.
September 27, 2018
If we haven't entirely lost our sense of humor in these polarized times, there's great nostalgic pleasure to be had watching Bergen's Murphy back in action, with foes worthy of her ideological wrath.
September 27, 2018
In short, Murphy Brown was a lovably fractured mess and nobody's poster child for anything. Turning her into a geriatric Rachel Maddow-style Stalinist (Bergen is 72, around the same age as her character) does lethal damage to the heart of the show.
September 27, 2018
Murphy is back, but maybe she should have stayed the legendary memory she once was.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.5/10
Page 1 of 2