Overlord - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Overlord Reviews

Page 1 of 11
November 18, 2018
I enjoyed this movie.
Super Reviewer
½ November 18, 2018
The movie can be quite tense and thrilling, and it is funny that, while not very bright, the main character is lucky enough to stumble on information after information by pure chance and not get killed after thirty minutes - which makes everything even more fun to watch.
November 18, 2018
This movie was all it promised in the trailer blood,guns,gore and of course lots of action the story was lacking a little bit but overall a great action film.
November 18, 2018
perfect for something to be entertained with, the violence and gore is truly satisfying and the dialogue is bravado.
½ November 17, 2018
A great combination of army and zombie films.
November 17, 2018
In my books, I consider this one of the greatest movies of all time. Just go watch it and pay attention to it's detail. This film is an instant classic.
½ November 17, 2018
Thrilling, suspenseful, and fun, "Overlord" will surprise the audience with a refreshingly original story and satisfyingly gory violence.
½ November 17, 2018
Surprisingly good. A new genre It's not a war movie, not a horror movie, it's a waorror movie! Well acted, tight script. The WWII darkside of the super soldier story, but on a personal rather than heroic scale. Everyone was good.
November 17, 2018
Awful, gruesome, no redeeming qualities walked out halfway through
November 17, 2018
This movie was awesome really trilling action packed great characters and a lot of fun
½ November 17, 2018
Brilliant thriller with body-horror elements, I loved the use of gore effects in this movie and they really captured that Band of Brothers feeling while including all the zombie horror elements too. Bit of an 80s action movie problem with the invincible main characters but it still felt largely believable.
November 17, 2018
Average nazi-zombie movie.
(well, almost zombie)
November 17, 2018
Overlord spends more time focusing on dark imagery and revisionism than it does on its own characters or villains. I do not remember anyone's name or motivations, simply because, that wasn't the movies concern. Just throw in some gore, a revisionist history, and a few scary nazi's and claim your prize. Not worth the price of admission.
November 17, 2018
It took itself seriously for the best reasons, resulting in a solid genre movie!
½ November 17, 2018
Overlord is by far the most cliche zombie-WWII film. In saying that, Overlord introduces a cool, new, alternative historical look at WWII, but with Zombies of course. But with poor execution, and character arcs that go no where, Overlord is a major let down.
November 17, 2018
A good B movie with an A movie budget. Opening scenes great!
November 17, 2018
Overlord is a grisly explosion of B-movie insanity. It may not always take its unbridled craziness as far as it could, but that doesn´┐ 1/2(TM)t keep it from being an endlessly enjoyable spectacle. The cast is game, the action is electric, and the blood and guts are plentiful.
November 16, 2018
This movie was amaizing frim the start to the end. A fully action pumped horrer. The visuals were amaizing and the greenscreen was done so well. The story line was perfect and the ending was very satisfying. This movie had alot of work put into. Probably one of the best action horror films ever. I loved it, it literally gave me goosbumps.
½ November 16, 2018
I think I remember the first time I watched the trailer for Overlord I found myself weirdly interested yet worried about how it turn out; since due to heavy rumours this film would tie into Cloverfields universe (after while not much of hatred on my part, thought the film was good, from most audiences and critics) this wouldn't find its footing being its own thing and would stick to a lot of cliches and simple narrative over the top tropes in being a 'Nazi-Zombie' movie. So now after some time, and to my thankful relief it wasn't related at all to Cloverfield and I grew quite excited after learning the writes of The Revenant and Source Code would be helming the script of this film (and holy crap the posters and look of the film looked so freaking cool and creative), I'm a bit weirded out to say that while I did find some decent enjoyment seeing this, I'm also quite honest a bit let down by the odd decisions it chooses to stick with till the end that kind of made it a bit of a mixed experience. However without going too deep with the issues with the film its worth noting that Overlord does have quite a good amount of strengths worth noting such being a very honestly strong opening that does a good job of setting its characters, visuals, and especially tone and almost unintentional tonal misdirection, a pretty solid script that despite some of its simple structure is pretty decently effective and does rely on trying to get you to try and put its characters and tone balanced along with its story (which is so rare to honestly see in a lot of movies these days as far as balance), there's some pretty solid and wonderful acting from everyone involved with such a unknown cast (except Kurt Russell's son who much like in Black Mirror is showing so much promise as an actor and also literal clone of his dad its almost insane,) the films practical effects and especially creature makeup are something to seriously commemorate for as it never distracts the film and keeps a lot of it both entertaining and impressive, and admittedly there are some nice small moments and characters that I can't deny don't give the film some nice appreciation for trying to be its own thing; plus I can appreciate how much the film does balance on not being too over-the-top and super grounded to the horror/war film tones of Alien, The Thing, and Saving Private Ryan but being its own thing to some good success, which is usually hard to pull off.

However what's unfortunate to mention is that there's a lot that holds this film back, maybe more that comes to personal preference, from being something that maybe with possible inevitable sequels that come out of this (cause despite my problems with it i'm so down for trying to maybe expand on some of this if they're willing to) it can be fixed but for now stick to: Ok characters that unfortunately aren't given much of any full investment or interesting dynamics to help add to the films story (despite their great acting and one of the sub-villains being pretty cool), cinematography that maybe just again is personal preference but felt so artificial at times and wished it was given some more grounded/dynamic camerawork to help add to the tone, an unbearable and inappropriately used soundtrack, often contrasting tone, really formulaic editing that I swear to god even reuses the same shot twice when cutting to a characters face which was so bad it was jarring to the core, and honestly having too much of a straightforward story that doesn't add anything to make this feel immersing or almost 'iconic' to stick with and plays it very by the numbers; which would be fine if the characters had more than what they had going for and not a very linear ending.

So overall while I have a lot of conflicting thoughts with how some major elements played into a lot of the execution of the film, Overlord I must say must be commended for trying to stick with such a balanced (least in story and tone) way and especially in such a sea of endless sequels and connections to other IP's that it thankfully became its own thing. Maybe with some better inclusion to some of its characters to the story and perhaps maybe trying to end it on more grounded terms (perhaps maybe with a dark/noble ending) then this would've probably worked for me better; but as it stands its still honestly solid for what it is. Definitely check it out when you can, has its B-movie moments that I think a lot of people will have a good time with.
November 16, 2018
Private Ryan meets Shield.
Page 1 of 11
EditPlus 4.2 Build 1217 Full | Men In Black 3 DVDRIP | Deadpool 2